Apple Cider Pork Loin with Cumin Parsley Rice

I’ve made this pork loin every fall since I was in 7th grade.  It’s my absolute favorite way to do pork loin. Its a wonderful start to fall and a great dish for a crowd of people.  I had the wonderful opportunity of cooking for 5 friends a few weekends ago while I was in Philly and I couldn’t think of a better dish to prepare.  Taylor (my amazingly wonderful man-of-my-dreams boyfriend) and I went to a small farm outside of philadelphia to pick pumpkins and much to my liking they had a farmers market that had fresh meat raised on their farm.  The pork loins were absolutely beautiful.  They had a deep red color that just screamed flavor.

He’s absolutely beautiful too 😉

And we’re beautiful together!

Back to food…

I apologize for my lack of pictures.. I was concentrating on how delicious the food was going to be.

This pork in marinated in apple cider then covered in a brown sugar, mustard pecan rub.  YUM!

Start by marinating the pork loin in apple cider.  Put the pork in a zip lock back or casserole dish and cover it with the apple cider.  Marinate it for 6-8 hours. I started marinating when I woke up and it was perfect by dinner time.

Take the pork out and throw away the apple cider.  Get your rub together- garlic, brown sugar, and mustard.  Generously rub this all over the pork loins.  Then roll them in chopped pecans.  Roast at 450 until it reaches 145 degrees about 30 minutes. Cover with foil and let it rest for 15 minutes.

The rice is easy!  Cook 2 cups of white rice with 2 can of chicken broth and 1/2 cup of water.  Then mix in the parsley, cumin, and pecans  I’m not a huge cumin fan but it’s absolutely amazing in this rice.

I sautéed some apples in butter and apple cider and topped the pork with it. Serve all together and enjoy!!

Here’s the recipe–

serves 6

2 cups apple cider
2 pounds pork
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 tbs spicy brown mustard
4 garlic cloves, minced
1 1/3 cup chopped pecans
Cooking Spray

Cover the pork with apple cider and marinate for 6-8 hours.  Discard Marinade.  Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Combine brown sugar, mustard, and garlic. Rub over pork. Roll pork in pecans until covered.  Roast on a broiler pan for 30 minutes or until pork reaches 145 degrees.

While the pork is cooking, make the rice.

2 cups rice
2- 14 oz cans chicken broth
1/2 cup water
2/3 cups of parsley
2 tbs. of butter
Salt and Pepper to taste
1 teaspoon Cumin

Bring water, chicken broth, and rice to a boil. Cover and turn heat on the lowest setting.  After 20-30 minutes the rice will be done.  Mix in the remaining ingredients.

One thought on “Apple Cider Pork Loin with Cumin Parsley Rice

Leave a Reply

