Weekend Lobster Dinner

One of the perks of living by the ocean is fresh seafood.  My Dad is a great scuba diver and while I was visiting last weekend, he caught some AWESOME lobsters.  It doesn’t get fresher than eating seafood the day it’s caught and the fresh difference is very evident.  My parents and I whipped up quite the feast.

Here’s what was on the menu:

Roasted beet, goat cheese, and arugula salad
Grilled lobster tails
Green beans with pancetta
Shells and Cheese 

Roasted beets are all the rage right now. I haven’t been to a nice restaurant in the past few months that doesn’t feature a beet dish of some kind.  My idea of beets were Nangie’s canned pickled beets that  were….. not one of her best dishes.  They just never did much for me.  Roasting the beet though gives it a whole new life!

You start by tossing the beets in a balsamic vinaigrette- 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar, 3 tablespoons thinly sliced shallots, 1 tablespoon honey, 1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil, Salt and pepper

Reserve the left over vinaigrette. Roast them at 400 degrees for 45 minutes.

Then all you have to do is assemble the salad!  Arugula, chopped avocado, goat cheese, and the beats. Drizzle on the reserved vinaigrette. The different textures and tastes in this salad are really amazing.

My dad prepped the lobster. Since it’s so good by itself, there’s no need for lots of spices, sauces, blah blah.  Just some salt an pepper and a hot grill for about 10 minutes.  Don’t overcook!

The green beans were flavorful as well.  I chopped up some pancetta and sautéed it until it was nice a crispy.  I steamed the green beans and then threw them in the pan with the pancetta. 
I don’t have a picture of the mac and cheese :/ but here’s the recipe I use. I don’t do the tomato and breadcrumb topping.  It’s a great recipe. My only beef with it that the leftovers aren’t very good.   http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/mac-and-cheese-recipe2/index.html

One thought on “Weekend Lobster Dinner

Leave a Reply

